Asia Cup: Tigers win by 3 runs


Sports desk: Bangladesh have won the match by three runs against Afghanistan in the super four match of the Asia Cup at Abu Dhabi.

Bangladesh set a 250-run target for the Afghanistan players in the match that kicked-off at 5.30pm (BST). In reply, Afghans managed to make 246 runs in 50 overs losing seven wickets.

The tigers also scored 249 runs in 50 overs losing seven wickets.

Earlier in the day, Bangladesh won the toss and opted to bat first. But, they lost early wickets, making their most-needed victory uncertain.

However, Imrul Kayes and Mahmudullah tried to build up the innings for Bangladesh. Bangladesh have bailed themselves out of trouble through the 128-run stand between Mahmudullah and Kayes. At 87/5, they were in danger of being bowled out inside 50 overs.

Opener Liton Das scored 41 runs off 43 balls with three boundaries and went through the pavilion as Rashid Khan picked him up while another opener Nazmul Hossain Shanto scored only 6 runs before he was taken by Aftab Alam.

Mohammad Mithun could not make his innings longer as he was out scoring only one run while the two most dependable batsmen, Shakib and Mushfiq paid a heavy price for the mistake as they became run out and Bangladesh fall into crisis.

The match was an acid test for both the teams as both team lost their respective first matches in this round.

The Tigers have already lost a game against Afghanistan, although two of their most important players – Mushfiqur Rahim and Mustafizur Rahman – did not feature in that group-match.

Both teams were in the same situation, effectively, as far as the tournament went, but, Afghanistan looked clear favourites, their spinners itching to go at an under-pressure batting line-up that has failed to cross 200 in successive games.

Afghanistan have played impressive cricket in the Asia Cup so far, although the loss to Bangladesh and Pakistan will take time to heal.


Bangladesh (Playing XI): Liton Das, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Islam

Afghanistan (Playing XI): Mohammad Shahzad(w), Ihsanullah Janat, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Samiullah Shenwari, Asghar Afghan(c), Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Aftab Alam, Mujeeb Ur Rahman


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here