Bangladesh Society Election – 2016: Three-way competition for the position of President.

From left, Azmal Hossain Kunu, Kamal Ahmed and Osman Choudhury
From left, Azmal Hossain Kunu, Kamal Ahmed and Osman Choudhury

39 nomination papers submitted. $1,09,500 in Election Commission fund.

Osman Choudhury has triggered quite a sensation by launching a 3-way competition for the presidential position. On the last day of the submission of nomination paper for Bangladesh Society, Osman Choudhury submitted his nomination paper for the position of President on September 4.  From two other panels, the running President Azmal Hossain Kunu and former Vice President Kamal Ahmed submitted their nomination papers for the position of President. This competition among three candidates is the second time in the history of the Society. There was triangular fight for 2004, Nargis Ahmed beat other tow candidate Fakrul Alam and Dr. Chowdhury Sarwarul Hasan, MD.

On the last day of nomination submission, a total of 39 candidates submitted their nomination papers for 19 positions. For the presidential position a submission of nomination came from an independent candidate. This is going to be the most expensive election the Election Commission has ever conducted. The election is going to be held in 5 centers: 3 in Woodside, Jamaica, Ozone Park in Queens, 1 in Brooklyn, and 1 in Bronx.

Of the Kamal-Ruhul panel, those who submitted the nomination papers are as follows:

Kamal Ahmed – President, Abdul Rahim Hawlader – Senior Vice President, Abul Khaleq Khayer – Vice President, Ruhul Amin Siddiqui – General Secretary, Sayed M. K. Zaman – Assistant General Secretary, Mohammad Ali -Treasurer, Abul Kalam Bhuyian – Organizing Secretary, Monika Roy – Cultural Secretary, Nader A Ayub – Social Welfare Secretary, Nasir Uddin Ahmed – Literary Secretary, Mohammad Noused Hossain (Siddique) – Sports Secretary, Ahsan Habib – Secretary of Schools and Eduction,  Sirajul Hoque Jamal – Publicity Secretary, Sadi Mintu, Abul Kashem Choudhury, Farhana Choudhury, Azad Bakir, Moinul Uddin Mahabub and Moinul Islam – Executive Members.

Of the Kunu-Azam panel, those who submitted the nomination papers are as follows:

Azmal Hossain Kunu – President, Shah Newaz, Senior Vice President, Shafi Alam Lal – Vice President, Kazi Shakhawat Hossain Azam – General Secretary, Mofizul I. Bhuyian – Assistant General Secretary,  Nishan Rahim – Treasurer, A. K. M. Rafiqul Islam Dalim – Organizing Secretary, Mohammad Selim Ibrahim, Literary Secretary, Mohammad Rizu – Publicity Secretary, Mohammad Khan Tipu – Secretary of Social Welfare, Sheikh Haider Ali – Literary Secretary, Samrat Hossain Emily – Sports Secretary, Wahid Kazi Elin – Education Secretary, Kazi Tofael Ahmed, Sarwar Khan Babu, Jashim Uddin, Ashraf Ali Khan Liton, Abul K. Akand, Shahnaz Alam Lipi – Excecutive Members.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here